Family · Food

Menu Monday 2/20/17

My mom is watching the kids Tuesday night because Dave and I will be enjoying our Valentine’s gifts to each other: tickets to a University of Kentucky basketball game. Go Big Blue! So I won’t have to come up with a meal for that day. I’ll just share what mom is making for the girls, one of their favorite Boobush (as they call her) dishes. We’ll be returning home Wednesday in time to meet the kids’ bus after school, but I’ll need an easy meal to prepare that evening. Lucky for me Wednesday is National Chili Day! What could be easier than that?

 

Monday: Chicken orzo casserole with spinach, green beans, mushrooms, and onions. I made too much orzo yesterday when I was preparing dinner. So today I am going to sauté some onions and mushrooms, add the steamed green beans, wilt the spinach with minced garlic and make a cream sauce. Mix it all together in a greased casserole dish with leftover chicken and the orzo, top with shredded parmesan cheese and bake until heated through.

Tuesday: Boobush’s chicken and dumplings. Nothing else to say, it’s delicious!

Wednesday: Chili. I think I’ll make it Monday and store it in the refrigerator. Chili is always better the day after you make it anyway and that will make Wednesday easier. We always eat our chili over angel hair pasta and topped with cheddar cheese and Fritos.

Thursday: Chef Salad. The girls’ have choir from 4-5pm so I can whip up salads and top them with ham, turkey, cheese, and boiled eggs. I’m so lucky that my eight and eleven year olds love salad and will even accept it as the main course for dinner.

Friday: Beer battered fish, slaw, and fries. I’m just messing with you. I’m not going to all that trouble. My oldest daughter has a school dance where she’ll gorge herself on pizza. So we’ll take our youngest to LongJohnSilverFish (as she calls it). Presley hates it and Peyton loves it so it’s the perfect opportunity to treat her.