Family · Food · Holidays

Nature’s Valentines

It’s hard to believe that Valentine’s Day is less than a week away. In honor of the holiday I’d like to share some naturally occurring “valentines” with you. I assure you that we came across all of these heart shapes quite by accident and it has become sort of a game for us to be on the lookout for hearts in nature.

img_0973

This is the one that started my obsession with heart shaped foods.  I opened my bag of baby carrots and this was inside.  The carrots must have grown together and they even survived the “baby carrot slicer” intact,  Amazing!

img_4641

We  grew this one ourselves in our garden this summer.  Imagine my surprise to cut open a pepper and find a pink valentine inside.

img_2108

Apparently potatoes can show their love as well.  I guess 2 potatoes grew together to make this heart.

img_2600

This one is an orange that was a little past it’s prime.  I had several that I was going to make into orange juice.  I sliced it open and there was a whole row of hearts.

img_7192

A heart shaped strawberry.  Wouldn’t these be a perfect find for Valentine’s Day?  You could dip a whole tray of them in chocolate for your Valentine.

Sometimes tuna even comes in the shape of a valentine.  Who can resist heart shaped fish?

img_7432

Presley loves to bring me heart shaped rocks.  This is one of my favorites.

img_6739

Another heart shaped accident.  I was frying up sausage patties for biscuits and gravy and this patty cooked into the shape of a heart.

img_4798

Presley got this heart on a plate of fried chicken at a local restaurant.  It’s a chicken wing shaped just like a valentine.

Okay, so these last two aren’t naturally occurring but I just have to share them.

img_2315

We also can’t resist cooking heart shaped food on Valentine’s Day so here’s last year’s pizza dinner.

And Yes, There Will Be Pancakes for breakfast!  We made these a year or two ago but we plan on making more this year!