Food

Menu Monday 5/29/17

Happy Memorial Day everyone!  Amid all the grilling, barbecuing, and picnicking please try to find a moment to celebrate the day as it was intended: to honor and remember all of the men and woman who have died while serving in the United States Armed Forces.  We truly are the “land of the free” due to the bravery and service of these men and women.

IMG_6264

Monday:  Hamburgers with all the trimmings, potato salad, spicy cucumber salad, and Caesar salad.  My mom has to watch her salt intake due to her recent heart diagnosis so I’ll put avocado slices on her burger instead of cheese and I’ll slice the tomatoes thinly since they are naturally high in sodium.  I’ll butter (unsalted) the buns and sprinkle with garlic powder before toasting them on the grill for added flavor instead of salting the ground beef.  For the cucumber salad, I’ll use cider vinegar, red pepper flakes, Stevia (1/2 tsp.), and just a pinch of salt.  Mom makes the best potato salad, so she’s in charge of that.  Caesar salad made with Romaine and kale will round out the meal.

Tuesday:  Grilled chicken salads.  Dave’s Mom is coming into town today and I’m not sure when she’s arriving so this meal will be easily prepared in a short amount of time.  We have grilled chicken leftover from Sunday, so I’ll just throw it on top of whatever salad fixin’s are in my produce drawer.  A fresh baked baguette with butter will be a nice side.

IMG_6038
Chargrilled pork Bun bowl

Wednesday:  Glazed chicken “Bun” bowl.  I’ve never made one of these for my mother-in-law and I can’t wait to share it with her.  I think she’ll enjoy it as much as we do.  Please check out these links for recipes and inspiration: Glazed pork “Bun” bowl, Chicken “Bun” bowl, and Menu Monday.

img_7176

Thursday:  Yogurt marinated chicken, Greek salad, and Pita bread.  Marinate boneless, skinless chicken breasts in Greek yogurt, salt, pepper, and oregano for a few hours, then grill.  Check out this post (Friday)  for my Greek salad and buttered Naan (or pita) bread.

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 5.05.08 PM

Friday:  Tuna w/stewed chickpeas & tomato vinaigrette.  Dave’s Mom is leaving today and taking our girls with her for the next two weeks so Dave and I are on our own. Be prepared for some recipe experimentation.  I just read this recipe in the May edition of Everyday with Rachel Ray magazine.  I hope it tastes as good as it looks.  My girls love tuna steaks but they were a little wary of  stewed chickpeas and tomatoes, so now is a great opportunity to test the recipe.  

One thought on “Menu Monday 5/29/17

Leave a Reply

