DIY · Drinks · Family · Food · Holidays

Mother’s Day 2017

IMG_0462

I hope everyone had a great Mother’s Day.  We certainly did.  My girls made me some lovely Mother’s Day cards that I’m sure took them a great deal of time and effort.  They also made some original cards for both of their grandmothers.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 2.30.09 PM

My sister came to visit from South Carolina so it was a very special Mother’s Day for our mom since she had both of us to share it with.  We celebrated with a Mother’s Day brunch complete with Virgin Bloody Marys that I think tasted better than the traditional version. You’ll never guess the secret ingredient!  But I’ll get to that a little bit later.  We sat on Mom’s back patio and drank our beautiful Bloody Marys while watching the Little Red River flow by.  What a peaceful way to spend the holiday.  My sister made a delicious quiche with spinach, ham, and mushrooms and  a fruit salad.  We figured out how to make crispy hash browns on a sheet tray in the oven.  They came out wonderfully crisp and no one had to stand over the pan watching them.  BONUS! (Check back throughout the week, as I will be sharing some of these recipes.)

Mother’s Day Menu 2017IMG_6193.jpg

Spinach, mushroom, and ham quiche

Crispy oven-baked hash browns

Oven-roasted breakfast sausages

Fresh fruit Salad

Virgin Bloody Marys

 

After brunch we took some family photos. My sister and I are so grateful that Mom is doing so well after her ordeal in the hospital in Tucson just over a month ago.  We hope we have many more Mother’s Day’s to share together.

IMG_0489

Leave a Reply

