Family · Food · Holidays

Menu Monday 4/17/17

I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter. We had a lovely day and to top it off a DELICIOUS Easter dinner. Baked ham, homemade 5 cheese macaroni and cheese, bacon wrapped asparagus bundles, buttery corn on the cob, steamed green beans tossed in butter and garlic, sautéed cinnamon sugar pears, deviled eggs, and Parker House rolls. For dessert we had a Lemon Blueberry Cream Cheese pie. Peyton (my 8 year old) helped make the deviled eggs and filled them all by herself. We were very pleased with her finished product.

IMG_5935

It was the first time we attempted the Lemon Blueberry Cream Cheese Pie. Presley (my 11 year old) gathered all the ingredients for me and then when I was still busy with other dishes proceeded to make the pie herself.

We celebrated my mom’s birthday yesterday as well since unfortunately she spent hers in the hospital in Arizona. She was proud of Presley’s first solo-made dessert, even with it’s store-bought crust.

We have lots of leftover ham but only enough of the other dishes for a lunch or two. So we won’t be having my favorite day after the holiday meal: LEFTOVERS! But we will be eating ham (and Easter eggs) for the rest of the week. So instead of giving you a daily menu full of leftover ham, I’m going to give you a list of all the delicious things you can make with that ham and let you choose for yourself. Or see Menu Monday 12-5-16 for other ideas.

  • Ham Fritatta (see recipe here)
  • Baked macaroni with cheese and ham
  • Scrambled eggs with cheese and ham (breakfast for dinner!)
  • Hot ham and cheese sandwiches
  • Quiche with spinach, ham, and cheese
  • Scalloped potato and ham casserole

 

  • Ham and cheese biscuits (also great for breakfast)
  • Fried ham, Au Gratin potatoes, broccoli, and fried apples
  • Chef Salad
  • Fried ham, fried eggs, and hash browns (I know, breakfast again)
  • Ham salad sandwiches (also great on crackers)
  • Ham and cheese omelets or crepes
  • Salad topped with Deviled eggs and ham
  • Don’t forget to use that ham bone for bean soup!
2 thoughts on “Menu Monday 4/17/17

  1. I love all these options for leftover ham, since I have quite a bit also. My favorite to make though it’s Cracker Barrel’s Hash Brown Casserole with ham added to make it a main course. Not very healthy, but so yummy. Plus it makes enough for a couple dinners and reheats well. Have to remember to make ham salad before it’s all gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks MaryLu! I hadn’t thought of that. I LOVE Cracker Barrel Hash Brown Casserole and of course it would be great with ham. I’m going to add it to my list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

