Family · Health · Wellness

Wellness Wednesday – Trace Minerals

I have always had what you might refer to as weak ankles. They snap and pop a lot and never feel very stable. When I started seeing a chiropractor about 5 years ago, she observed that my ankles (among other things) were out of alignment. She adjusted them and commented on how loose they felt. Every time I receive a chiropractic adjustment my ankles require resetting as well. Sometimes they move so much during the adjustment that I think my whole foot is going to come off in my doctor’s hands. We often joke about it. My profession requires long hours of standing still in front of a computer and even with periodic adjustments my ankles were still always “loose” and I won’t even start to complain about my feet (that’s probably another post altogether). I personally think that having to stand still in one place all day for a job may actually be worse for our body than sitting at a desk.

 

My chiropractor suggested Trace Minerals B-12, a blend containing:

Vitamin B-12, iron, iodine, zinc, copper, manganese as well as a proprietary blend of some very obscure ingredients, which I may go into in a later post.

 

According to the company literature, this formula combines important nutrients to support enzymatic reactions in the body, support a healthy body, provides essential cofactors for healthy cell functioning, provides iodine (which is required for healthy thyroid, spleen, and red blood cell functions, and are supposed to support ligament, cartilage, and bone structure), immune system and thyroid function: fat metabolism; and calcium utilization. If I remember to take these every day my ankles are much sturdier and less prone to snapping and popping, and are much less frequently in need of adjusting. When my girls started complaining of “growing pains” in their legs and ankles, my chiropractor suggested giving them ½ tablet daily. The post-bedtime trips downstairs for me to massage or “adjust” their ankles have completely stopped. So naturally as a pharmacist I feel compelled to explore these trace minerals and see what they are actually doing for us. I’m going to explore a few ingredients each week, so let’s get started.

 

 

Vitamin B-12: Benefits your mood, energy level, memory, heart, skin, hair, digestion and more.

It is one of the most essential components for formation, repair, and maintenance of red blood cells thereby ensuring a healthy cardiovascular system. Red blood cells contain a special protein called hemoglobin, which helps carry oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body and then returns carbon dioxide from the body to the lungs so it can be exhaled. The red blood cells carry oxygen to your muscles, where some of it is used immediately and the rest is stored. The oxygen in your body is used to break down glucose and create the fuel for your muscles.

Vitamin B-12 lends a helping hand in maintaining nerve cells and therefor a strong nervous system. This further helps in maintaining the regular formation of DNA, the building block of the human body.

Vitamin B-12 is also essential for enzyme production, which fuel many reactions in the body. It functions as a coenzyme, meaning that it is required for enzyme-catalyzed reactions.

Vitamin B-12 is one of the vitamins that our body cannot produce and has to be provided by foods or supplements. It is a water-soluble vitamin, meaning that it dissolves in water, which allows it to be absorbed quickly in the body. Water-soluble vitamins are carried to the body’s tissues by the blood stream. Unlike other water-soluble vitamins (which the body can’t store), we do store a (approximately) two-year supply of Vitamin B-12 in our liver. Any excess amounts of water-soluble vitamins simply pass through the body via the kidneys.

Fatigue is the number one symptom of a B-12 deficiency, which can result in a host of illnesses like anemia, fatigue, weakness, constipation, loss of appetite, weight loss, depression, poor memory, soreness of the mouth, asthma, and vision problems.

B12.png

Make sure that your body is getting enough vitamin B12 by incorporating these foods in your diet: liver, meat, eggs, milk, cheese and some varieties of fish. Or take a good quality supplement.

So I assume this vitamin is helping my “wonky” ankles by supporting nerve and muscle function and tone as well as supporting enzymatic reactions and building DNA (the building block of the body). It sounds reasonable to me. So far my supplement is making sense. We’ll explore more ingredients next week.

 

 

One thought on “Wellness Wednesday – Trace Minerals

Leave a Reply

