Family

Menu Monday 2/6/17

Our menu last week got a little away from us when 2 family members caught the flu. It was all I could do to keep up with taking care of the two of them. So our ambitious menu went out the window for a few days and I made a big pot of soup. While we finish up a couple of last week’s meals, I’ll share my soup recipe with you this week. Luckily Dave and Presley have recovered and I think life will be back to normal this week.

 

Monday: Chicken spaghetti casserole, salad, and frozen garlic bread sticks. The girls have piano and voice lessons at 5pm, and Peyton has basketball practice at 6pm so we’ll be eating dinner in shifts. I can have the casserole ready so PJ can eat when she gets home from school and I can reheat it for us later.

 

Tuesday: Tuna steaks, white rice, and sautéed snow peas, onion, and mushrooms. I shared our favorite way to prepare tuna on our November 28, 2016, Menu Monday. Today I’ll just add plain white rice instead of rice balls (the girls will probably be disappointed). And I’ll quickly sauté the veggies to complete the meal.

 

Wednesday: Chicken enchilada soup. Sauté some diced onion and 2 diced chicken thighs, season with salt, pepper, cumin, and chili powder. Add 1 can enchilada sauce, 1 can Rotel, 1 can black beans, and 2 – 4 cups chicken stock. Add 1 cup frozen corn just prior to serving. I use mild enchilada sauce and Rotel but make it as hot as you want. Top with any combination of crushed tortilla chips, diced avocado, shredded cheddar, sour cream, or salsa before serving. This soup really helped with my flu sufferers’ congestion.

img_6504

Thursday: Eggplant Parmesan with angel hair pasta on the side, salad, and Dave’s famous (at least in our family) garlic bread. We grew a lot of Japanese eggplant this summer and to be honest, I ran out of ways to fix it. Fortunately it freezes well. I cut it into circles and dipped them in flour then egg then a mixture of cornmeal and breadcrumbs. I froze them on sheet trays then stored in freezer bags. All I have to do today is defrost them and fry in a little sunflower oil, then top with fresh mozzarella and place under the broiler until it melts. Serve with pasta and marinara sauce. Yum!

 img_7176

Friday: Salad night! Greek salad with yogurt marinated grilled chicken and garlic/butter pitas. I’ll chop up romaine lettuce, a lot of cucumber, red onion, and tomatoes. Then top with black or kalamata olives, pepperoncini, and feta cheese. I’ll mix up a lemon juice/olive oil vinaigrette to pull it all together. Season chicken liberally with salt, pepper, and oregano and marinate in Greek yogurt for a few hours before grilling. Serve with warm pita bread topped with butter and garlic.  

One thought on “Menu Monday 2/6/17

Leave a Reply

