Family · Food

Leftover Lunch

We’re on our way to Hot Springs for the Jr. Beta convention, so I don’t have a lot of time for a lengthy post. I thought I’d share the delicious lunch my husband and I shared yesterday. When I prepared the red beans and rice on Monday, I sautéed a quarter cup each of diced onion and poblano pepper. Then I added the rice/bean mixture. I also replaced part of the water called for on the box with a can of diced tomatoes. It makes the beans and rice taste more home-cooked and adds a serving of veggies. Because of the added vegetables, we had a good amount of red beans and rice left over from Monday’s dinner. So I decided to make red bean and rice burritos with cheese. Talk about easy. I just placed a scoop of beans/rice and a handful of shredded Colby in a flour tortilla and rolled it up. I topped it with enchilada sauce and more cheese and microwaved until the cheese melted. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream and Dave and I sat down to a restaurant worthy lunch. And, bonus, we got rid of the leftovers! Dave and I agreed that they might be even better with salsa verde which you could try if you made Chili Verde yesterday. What a great way to use up the rest of that jar of salsa. img_7214

Leave a Reply

