Family · Health · Wellness

Wellness Wednesday: New Year’s Resolutions

It’s that time of year, time for New Year’s Resolutions, time for us to resolve to change all the bad habits we possess. Why we think that we can totally remake ourselves into that perfect person with one promise made at the start of the New Year is beyond me. I’ve learned that the smaller the resolution the more likely we are to uphold it into or through the year. So instead of promising to lose 30 pounds or stop eating all sugar, or carbs, or fat, I find it is better to resolve to try to eat healthier and try to exercise more.

 

My first resolution this year are to try to cut back on processed foods and find exercises that I can do even with my feet in the terrible condition they are in. Walking, running, and any type of exercise that puts pressure on my feet are out so some research is going to be necessary.   Weight loss would be great but my goal is a stronger, healthier body.

 

My second resolution is for the entire family. We need to yell less and listen more. We tend to react immediately to negative feedback by either yelling or crying. We’ve become a family of drama queens (my husband and self included). I think we need to take the time to listen when spoken to, so that the person who is talking to us doesn’t have to waste time repeating themselves, which makes them angry, which makes them yell, which upsets everyone. Our new mantra is going to be: STOP, LISTEN, BREATHE, THINK, and then ACT. No yelling, I’ve learned it doesn’t do any good anyway. It doesn’t get their attention, it just makes me upset and raises my blood pressure (neither of which are good for anyone). We are going to work on voicing our frustrations calmly and politely, no snarky tones, no sarcastic replies, no pretending we didn’t hear the other person’s request. This is going to be a HUGE undertaking for our family and if we can improve just a little bit I think it will greatly reduce the stress in our lives and make us all happier.

 

Thirdly, I resolve to be happier (see above). As I discussed in my wellness post a few weeks ago, laughter is the best medicine. Laughter releases endorphins into the blood stream and decreases the secretion of cortisol and epinephrine. This reduces stress, promotes relaxation and improves circulation. Laughing together with other people improves co-operation, communication and even romance. Talk about happy. I resolve to create a “Happiness Journal” to record the things I’m thankful for that make me happy every day.

 

Lastly, I will try to live in the moment and appreciate every minute whether difficult or joyous.

3 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday: New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

