Family · Food

Menu Monday 12/19

Christmas week is finally here and I know everyone is busy. I hope that maybe this menu will provide some inspiration for some quick and easy meals this week.

 

Monday: Bean and cheese burritos enchilada style. This is one of our go-to EASY dinners: a can of refried beans, a bag of shredded cheese, tortillas, and a can of enchilada sauce. Add a package of Mexican rice and some sour cream to top off the burritos and you have a great meal.

 

Tuesday: Chicken Spaghetti Casserole. We make ours with Alfredo sauce and a can of Rotel plus rotisserie chicken (or even canned chicken in a pinch). Add a salad and some good rolls and dinner is done! I always make two of these, one to eat and one to freeze so today is easy. I’ll just defrost my spare.

 

Wednesday: Chef’s Salad. We’ve got to get the refrigerator cleaned out before we leave for Christmas and my produce drawer is full. So I’ll boil a couple of eggs and use up the lunchmeat and cheese over lettuce, carrots, cucumbers, mushrooms, and whatever else I come across.

 

Thursday: Fried Rice and Egg Drop Soup. I’ll just sauté up whatever veggies we have remaining in the produce drawer, add the last of the ham and a scrambled egg. I’ll stir that into 2 cups of cooked rice and season with soy sauce and Shanghai seasoning. The last of my green onions will top off the egg drop soup.

 

Friday: Vegetable beef soup. Start with a pound of ground beef or venison and add 3-4 potatoes, a few diced carrots and celery stalks and the last onion. Homemade beef stock out of the freezer makes it easy to finish.

We wish you a Merry Christmas from our family to yours. No matter how big or how small, family is still family and I hope you find a way to be with yours during this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

