Family · Food

Menu Monday 12-5-16

The weekend has been a little busy for us, but I made time on Sunday to cook a ham. Guess what’s on the menu this week? Ding ding ding – We have a winner! You guessed it: HAM!

I feel a little like Forrest Gump talking about Shrimp and all the ways to prepare it: “Boiled shrimp, fried shrimp, shrimp scampi…” That’s how I feel about ham this week. We are visiting family this Christmas and are planning on turkey for Christmas dinner so ham sounds good right now. If you didn’t read my mind and cook a ham this weekend, please forgive my limited menu this week. I also still have some kale, cucumbers, celery, carrots, mushrooms, and lettuce left in the refrigerator and half a bag of potatoes. So let’s see what we can use up.

Monday: Ham, macaroni and cheese, and asparagus. I am not that fond of mac ‘n’ cheese out of a box even though the quick version in the blue box is a favorite of my girls. I plan to make it from scratch using Gruyere, Cheddar, and our favorite processed cheese. I’ll add some dry mustard or blue cheese to amp up the flavor. (Hot sauce works well too)

Tuesday: Ham, corn, and potato frittata with salad. We have had this frittata recipe for ages and about the only part we follow consistently is the 4 eggs, 1 cup of diced potatoes, and 1& ½ cups shredded mozzarella. I think I’ll add corn, ham, and green onions too.

 Wednesday: Hot ham and cheese sandwiches and tomato soup. We have some obligations today so I think I’ll take the easy route with canned soup.

 Thursday: Scalloped potato and ham casserole with kale salad. I have learned that if I have a salad ready before I start cooking dinner I can prevent a lot of pre-dinner whining for something to eat. My girls are completely happy to sit down and eat a bowl of salad before dinner. Lucky Me!

 Friday: Fried ham, pierogies with onion, mushrooms, and green beans and fried pears or apples. For those of you who don’t know what pierogies are, they are sort of like ravioli stuffed with mashed potatoes and cheese. You pan fry them like pot-stickers and add sautéed onions, mushrooms, and green beans. YUM! We have a pear tree in our back yard, so every summer I can pear slices. In the fall and winter I simply dump them into a pan, syrup and all, add some cinnamon and let them cook till soft.

 Saturday: Bonus meal: Let’s have ham and eggs for breakfast since I can’t think of a ham pancake recipe. YUCK! Then take that ham bone and make a pot of White Northern Bean Soup to eat over the weekend.

Happy Eating!

One thought on “Menu Monday 12-5-16

Leave a Reply

