Uncategorized

S.P.E.W. 2

IMG_6737.jpg

Here’s an update on that late night “emergency” birthday gift I posted last week. As you know, I had 3 days to obtain a Harry Potter themed birthday gift for an 11 year-old Hermione Granger fan. I finally found my inspiration in Book 4 of the series, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, when Hermione tries to form an organization to help free the House Elves.

True Harry Potter-ophiles will remember the name of that organization, S.P.E.W: The Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare. Well, our birthday girl is a true lover of the Harry Potter book series and even though S.P.E.W. never made it into the movies, I knew she’d appreciate the reference. I came up with a few design options and Presley helped pick out the final one.

The ladies at T-shirt Express took care of me as I hoped they would and even added a wand element to my design. By noon on Friday I had the shirt in my hands. The gift was a HUGE success and the birthday girl wore it to school on Monday. Crisis Averted!

Leave a Reply

